Our (Failed) ECV Adventures

Wednesday was our external cephalic version (ECV) to attempt to turn Baby Girl Clinard into the correct position for birth. She is sitting frank breech. Her head is at my ribs, bottom towards my pelvis, and her legs & toes all the way up to her mouth. She sucks on her toes a lot.

Let’s just say the videos we watched on YouTube were a lot more tame than what they did to me.

When we got to the hospital, I was wondering why I had to be there 2 hours before the procedure. I figured that out quickly… They literally prepped me completely for a c-section, just in case. Lots of needles being stuck in my skin… Let’s face it, I’m ginger and they can NEVER find my veins. They did use this awesome contraption called a “vein finder” on me. It is new to them, so they were pretty excited to test it out. Well, it found my veins alright. But it didn’t make it any easier for them to get me. I have horrible veins and a huge bruise on my left arm that currently matches my tattoo.

Once they finally got my IV in, I also got doped up on an epidural. That was an interesting experience. I wouldn’t say it hurt going in. I definitely giggled, and the nurses definitely thought I was strange. I did have a horrible achey back for about 24 hours though. But it was such a funny feeling not being in control of my body! Lots of giggling happened in the c-section room.

So an ECV is basically a big old belly massage. I had two doctors- mine and another in the practice- going at it to turn this little girl. They DUG their nails and whole bodies into my belly. Good thing I barely felt it at all. The husband said it was BRUTAL to watch, and I was on display for about 10 people that day with more watching through the window. It was a big teaching day at the hospital, and most people had never seen a version. Sadly, though, Baby Girl Clinard had a mind of her own and did not cooperate. She is still sitting breech.

We stayed at the hospital for a few hours so they could monitor me and her. At first, she wasn’t really perking up. Turns out she was just hungry because her momma hadn’t eaten in 20 hours. So once they fed me, she perked right up. The doctors said she did great through the whole thing; you know, minus the fact that she wouldn’t budge!

When they sent me home, though, I was contracting every 2-3 minutes. But not strong enough. Well, here it is Saturday… Going on 72 hours since my contractions began, and I am still contracting. But I’m not dilated at all, and I don’t have to breath through them yet. They are also not consistent. I believe my doctor expects them to stop, but I’m skeptical.

Our c-section is officially scheduled for July 6 at noon. But I am hoping that we don’t have to wait that long. I am actually wanting my contractions to get stronger over here! I think this girl is ready to get out… She has moved more the last 3 days than she was before. She’s cramped and ready! EVICTION NOTICE.

Leave a Reply

