I’ll Do Me

Over the course of my two extra days off this week due to the cold, I’ve been making a list of things that I enjoy doing. Not what I enjoy doing with my friends or my family, but just me. What do I get joy out of? I feel that this list is important for those times that I feel lost. We all have those days where we just feel lost. I seem to have a lot of them during the winter. Winter is not kind to me. It brings out my worst side. So here’s my list that I can refer to when I feel lost.

1. Baking. I really love baking. I hate the mess it makes, and perhaps that is why I am reluctant to do it. I need to bake more. I need to step outside my comfort zone and try new recipes too. I often get stuck on the same old, delicious recipes. It’s hard to break that cycle.

2. Reading. I started reading my first book of the year, “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” by Jenny Hahn. When I find books that I can get into, it’s hard to put them down and go to bed.

3. Reading teaching blogs. This one sounds lame, but I love it. Reading teaching blogs gets me excited about going to school. We’ve all got to find inspiration somewhere.

4. Crafting. I love crafting. It may be a school project or a home decor project . I get a kick out of making something new with my hands. I need to put my Pinterest inspiration to use more.

Now, this is all I have. This list is really lame, I admit. Everything else in my life that I enjoy involves my husband or step-daughter or a friend or the cats. So here’s my goal: Find a new hobby. I need a new hobby that I like and that I don’t share with others. Something I can turn to when I am feeling lost and not like myself. “I’ll do me, and you’ll do you.”

So what thrills you? What do you look forward to doing alone? I need some new ideas.

*It should be noted that it was very difficult not to put Netflix on this list. And I didn’t because I spend too much time wasting away in front of Netflix when I feel lost. While I enjoy being able to veg out in front of the iPad, I need to broaden my horizons.

Leave a Reply

